The Association of Municipalities with Cities and Areas of Cultural and Historical Heritage is a non-profit legal entity for carrying out activities in the public interest.

The Association was founded in 2014 at the initiative of the Municipality of Veliko Tarnovo with the support of the National French Association of Cultural and Historic Cities Under Protection.

The Association is a voluntary association of municipalities in the Republic of Bulgaria for carrying out non-profit activities aiming at supporting and developing policies in the field of preservation and promotion of immovable cultural heritage; developing plans and programmes for sustainable development of settlements and protected areas of cultural and historical heritage; promoting the development of cultural tourism; researching and exchanging Bulgarian and foreign good practices and experience in the preservation, promotion, management, and restoration of cultural heritage sites; cooperating with stakeholders for the optimization and implementation of the legislation, strategies, and plans for conservation, development, and management of cultural heritage and for participation in the implementation of regional, national, and international programmes; implementing and extending cooperation and partnership with similar organizations in the country and abroad. At present, members of the Association are eleven municipalities.

Management Board:

Eng. Daniel Dimitrov Panov, Mayor of Veliko Tarnovo Municipality, Chairman;

Georgi Ivanov Ikonomov, Mayor of Bansko Municipality

Nikolay Dobrev Angelov, Mayor of Balchik Municipality